Books · Personal

My Mood Elevators

There are very few books that are funny enough to make me laugh out loud. So whenever I do come across one of these rare books, I make an important note to remember it so that I can come back to it whenever I’m in need of a good laugh. Apart from the entire Roald Dahl collection for children, there are a few other books that are my all time favourite reasons to laugh.

๐Ÿ™‚

First on the list is The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass. I do mean Adrian Plass and not Adrian Mole. The Adrian Mole series, hilarious as they are, cannot be compared to The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass, age 37 3/4 , the most popular and amusing of the series.

Adrian Plass’ new year resolution is to start keeping a regular diary as a sort of spiritual log for future generations. What starts out as a spiritual project of faith turns into a humorous view of the life of a normal christian.

I first read this book when I was around 14 or 15. I loved it then for the way it made me laugh, and I’ve continued to reach out for it every time I begin to feel a tad dull.

Second on the list is the entire collection of Patrick E. McManus’ writings. Even though I’m not a very outdoorsy person, and I know next to nothing of hunting and fishing, which is basically what this particular author focuses on, his books are another set of favourites whenever I find myself looking for a good time. Patrick McManus is one of the most descriptive writers I have ever come across, along with the most wacky sense of humour imaginable. Most of his stories are in the first person and, to what extent I don’t know, autobiographical. But what makes his stories a must read are for the way they’ve been told. I can’t imagine anyone not finding his stories hilarious!

My third favourite funniest book is Starter for Ten by David Nicholls. The main character, Brian, is a very ambitious 18 year old all set out for his first term at university. And like most 18 year olds he thinks he’s a proper adult who knows what he’s doing. Although he tries to be very grown up and classy, he always manages to sabotage things for himself.

Although the book made me laugh out loud and giggle stupidly while enjoying it thoroughly, I did come across a few not so complimentary reviews on it. To be fair, this book does tend to focus on the awkwardness and angst that Brian is going through. The main character is very realistic and some felt that there was no redeeming quality in him. Most of the negative reviews focused on this aspect. I disagree of course. I love realistic fiction–fiction that fools me ย or at least creates doubt in me that maybe something like this did happen once. It’s easy to relate to. ย Of course there are times when you do begin to feel sorry for Brian but his antics and running commentary through it all is what makes this book an entirely fun read.

I’m always on a constant search for good books, more so for books that I can go back to whenever I need a good, solitary, mood changing laugh. Any new suggestions?

4 thoughts on “My Mood Elevators

  1. Nice!, I too find Patrick McManus absolutely hilarious – I can laugh till tears roll down my cheeks. His descriptions are so vivid that I can almost see, hear and smell what’s happening. Must make a note to read The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass. Thanks Geets, this was really good.

    Like

  2. I love the way you look at things. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I had people like you in my generation. Instead i’m stuck with half minded dim wits who are starstruck if i’m halfway through a Dr. Seuss book.

    Like

    1. Hahaha! Dr.Seuss is pretty good too ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’ve been there as well. Except that no one was star struck to see me reading. They just thought it odd. In fact, sometimes they still do. And I know because they make sure to tell me. So don’t worry. You’ve got company ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment

