Books · Personal

Spoils from The Book Market

Today’s post is a follow up to A Book Fiend’s Fantasy. I hope it won’t scare any of you away to know that this book fiend harbours a soft spot for YA Fiction and Oprah’s Book Club. Although there were copies after copies of the Classics and other Adult Literature I haven’t yet read, I found myself drawn to any book that made me nostalgic for my school days. It started of with accidentally having picked up Voyage on the Great Titanic by Margaret Ann Brady while kneeling and digging through a 20-rupee-book pile. I was 13 again. Memories of having spent hours in a school library stacked high with Scholastic Books, Award Winning books, and other popular children’s literature enveloped me. The delight and realisation that I could find any book here was intoxicating.

I found that I was pouncing on almost every Judy Blume, Beverly Cleary and Newbery Medal book that I set my eyes on. In slightly saner moments I snatched up every Oprah Book Club book that I came across. I’m glad I let Oprah guide me here because I realized later that this was also a way to discover new authors. And considering her values I doubt her choice of books would disappoint easily.

I was a little surprised to find Disappointment With God by Philip Yancey in one of the 20-rupee piles. Of course, I picked it up immediately. And if I wasn’t pleased with having found it then, I most certainly was yesterday when a friend told me she’d paid 180 Rupees for the same book at the little Christian bookshop near the hospital. 

On my Aunty’s suggestion, I also picked up two Amy Tan books that I am looking forward to reading soon. Another interesting find which my Aunty chanced upon was Barbara Kingsolver’s  Prodigal Summer. Even more interesting was the photograph that we found between its pages. It made us wonder who the previous owner must have been, and whose picture this could possibly be. Second hand books have so much character!

My Aunt and I refused to buy any book that cost more than 50 Rupees. We saw some fantastic Penguin books for only a 100 Rupees each yet we passed them by with the thought that we could buy 5 other books with the same amount of money. So many books in one place can make us book fiends shrewd to the point of being tight – fisted even to our own chagrin in retrospect. Especially when we know that Penguin books, along with the Classics, will always be around. It’s the lesser known books that are difficult to hunt down.

I plan on making a second trip to Delhi for more book shopping this winter. Maybe the second time around, when I’ll be over the initial excitement and wonder, I’ll be able to shop a little more thoughtfully. Unlike this time where I shopped completely with my heart. I feel a little sad that I didn’t buy more books while I could and that I passed by the Anna Karenina that’s been on my TBR list for ages. Yet every time I look at my 22 books, focusing especially on my 14 YA books, it’s like I’ve been reunited with precious friends from the past. No regrets there.

From My Book Stash:

  • YA Fiction
  1. Voyage on The Great Titanic by Ellen Emerson White
  2. Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray
  3. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
  4. The Black Pearl by Scott O’ Dell
  5. Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff
  6. The Silver Pencil by Alice Dalgliesh
  7. The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi
  8. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’engle
  9. Here’s to You, Rachel Robinson by Judy Blume
  10. Iggie’s House by Judy Blume
  11. Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself by Judy Blume
  12. The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
  13. Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary
  14. Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
  • Oprah’s Book Club
  1. Vinegar Hill by A. Manette Ansay
  2. Fall on Your Knees by Ann-Marie MacDonald
  3. The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve
  4. Gap Creek by Robert Morgan
  • Others
  1. The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller
  2. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
  3. The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan
  4. Disappointment With God by Philip Yancey
6 thoughts on “Spoils from The Book Market

  1. I’ve only recently subscribed to your blog, and I am loving the tales of the book market – how I wish I could go! The photographs made me so envious – in a good way, of course.
    I liked your choices from this post and I’ve read a good number of them. I love Amy Tan and Barbara Kingsolver in particular. Have you read ‘The Poisonwood Bible’? (Kingsolver). I highly recommend it – it’s very, very good.

    Like

  2. Good for you for letting your heart lead you. Those books will bring you lots of joy!

    I really enjoyed the Amy Tan books and also The Pilot’s Wife. I look forward to hearing what you think of them. Anything by Philip Yancey is bound to be good as well.

    Like

  3. I am too a YA fanatic and can’t seem to complete any other “adult” books when I have one on my shelf. Currently about to dive into The City of Embers series. I hear it’s amazing. I too love Barbara Kingsolver and just read Prodigal Summer in August. It’s wonderful.
    So jealous of the amazing deals you’re finding! Thanks for writing.

    Like

    1. You sound a lot like me 😉 In matters both bookish and otherwise. I just visited your blog and your about page made me laugh out loud – I’m exactly 5ft and even my 9 yr old cousin is taller than me!
      Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

