Adventure · Books · Personal

My Best Book-Based Movie

I’m sorry I missed Sunday’s post. The weekend was unusually busy and the week, so far, is proving to be the same. But if you ask me what exactly I’ve been busy with it might leave me fumbling since work hasn’t been all that trying and choir practice is only at 8:45 in the evenings.

Saturday was Sabbath (I’m a Seventh-day Adventist). Sunday morning I had work. Sunday afternoon was spent at the mall where we decided to watch a movie – the new Tintin movie! And Sunday evening and a lot of Monday was spent discussing how fantastic the movie was and whether we should go watch it again. We also did some fabric shopping for winter – what fun!  

I remember the first time I watched a Harry Potter movie and the disappointment I felt when I found that the movie wasn’t half as magical as the book. And the time I watched Prince Caspian? I literally wanted to pull my hair and scream when the eponymous Prince Caspian came through as being a bit too arrogant towards Peter (the High King!) and romantic towards Susan. That’s not how the story in the book went – and the story in the book was perfect the way it was!

Ramona and Beezus made me laugh, sigh, and feel good in general yet I was aware that some parts of the movie were taken from Ramona the Pest and Ramona Quimby, age 8. And Beezus had long hair in the movie when she and Ramona were supposed to have the same short hair like they did in the book (and in my imagination). The Adventures of Tintin happens to be the only movie that has managed to captivate this ferocious book owl’s heart. (Of course I’m only talking about movies based on books/ comic books).

I think this is the best book-based movie ever made so far. Spielberg has managed to capture the essence of the Tintin comic books so well that this movie has left me eagerly looking forward to watching more Tintin movies by him. If you’re a fan of the Tintin comic books, or even if you aren’t, do try and find the time to watch this movie. It’s simply amazing and I think you will love it! When we decided to watch the movie we had to book our tickets in advance or else we wouldn’t have got any seats. Everyone in the theatre seemed to enjoy it as much as we did. Please, please, please watch The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn! 

So what has been your best book-based movie?

Regarding other matters occupying me presently, I’m working on a book list for 2012. I hope I manage to finish it by this week. Have a great week!

12 thoughts on “My Best Book-Based Movie

  1. The Bridges of Madison County! I love the book & I love the movie… in fact, I really can’t decide which one I like best. As is so seldom the case, the movie is very true to the book. Though I’d seen the movie several times before, I bought the DVD at the gift shop next to Roseman Bridge when I visited Madison County last summer!

    Like

    1. I remember you having said before that you visited Madison County because you liked the book so much! It made me want to read the book even more. And now that I have I must say that I liked it very much too! I didn’t know there was a movie as well. Will be on the look out for it.

      Like

      1. The movie was directed by Clint Eastwood. It stars Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep.

        Right now I’m reading The Wishing Trees by John Shors and enjoying it very much. Have you read it? If not, I’d recommend it. I think you’d enjoy it.

        Like

  2. I get what you mean. I avoid watching movies based on books I’ve read because of the movie is usually not like the book at all. But you’ve made we want to watch Tintin. Maybe I’ll turn from a bookworm into a firefly and visit the nearest cinema theatre to watch the film. : )

    Like

    1. Tintin was such a fun movie! I’m sure Pranab, Ami, and Parthiv will love it as much. And you will too! It’s so real and so much like the comic book. And even though it’s animated (kind of) it’s actually real people who are acting in it.

      Like

      1. We did it! We all watched ‘Tintin’ (in 3D) last Friday – Pranab, Ami, Parthhiv, Meghna & I. All of us enjoyed the movie. Now I want to watch ‘Puss in Boots’. : )

        Like

  3. I really hope to catch this movie soon for the Tin Tin tv-series-deprived me is hurting. The trailer was excellent and after this word of re-assurance from this post I’m definitely not going to miss it.

    Pride and Prejudice(2005) and Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince are two of my most favourite book-based movies.

    Like

    1. I read in the newspaper the other day that Spielberg is a major Tintin fan as well and he actually wanted to make this movie 20 or 30 yrs ago with Herge, the creator of the Tintin comic books. Unfortunately Herge passed away soon after their talk. In time tho Spielberg realised that with the development in technology he might be able to create something of better quality than he’d have then. And it’s a good thing he waited until now because the movie is fantastic and the characters, tho all of them unusual looking, are exactly like the comics showed them to be. I think you’ll like it!

      Like

  4. All hail Herge! I’m certainly going to like it because, hey its Tin Tin! The best part about the series is the nostalgic memories of childhood associated with it. And I’m really looking forward to the added 3D experience.

    Thanks so much 🙂

    Like

  5. Glad to hear it worked! I trust Speilberg so I’m not surprised. I have never read any of the Tintin books so I won’t have anything to base it on. I thought the Lord of the Rings did the books proud … perhaps even did better than them! : )

    Like

Leave a comment

