Books · Personal

The Joys of a Lazy Sunday

Why can’t everyday be Sunday? It’s the only day I get to be lazy. I spent the entire day yesterday lounging about in an ultra fleecy bathrobe eating fried chicken and watching funny videos on youtube. When I tired of that I watched movie trailers, but not a complete movie. Wintery weather began on Saturday and our Sunday was suitably overcast. So this kind of behaviour came naturally.

Now you may think that I wasted an entire Sunday watching silly videos on youtube and eating fried chicken. And you would be right in thinking so, though not quite. I somehow managed to take some time out and figure out the kind of reading I would like to do in 2012. All my life I’ve been reading simply for the pleasure of reading and that means reading anything I’ve been able to get my hands on.

I think I would like to plan my TBR list carefully this year and include classics and a few well known books I haven’t yet read, classics I have read the abridged version of, and a few other books that are maybe less popular in today’s bookstores but still call to be read and understood by any so called avid reader. Here’s the list. If you’ve got any suggestions I’d love to have them. (You may notice that I haven’t included any of Charles Dickens and Shakespeare’s writings – that’s because I got too much of them in school.)

  • Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope
  • To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • Ulysses by James Joyce
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  • A General Theory of Love by Thomas Lewis , Fari Amini, and Richard Lannon
  • Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
  • Geetanjali by Rabindranath Tagore
  • Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
  • The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
  • The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thakeray
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sun by Jules Verne
  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  • Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • Holes by Louis Sachar
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  • A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen
  • Fantasia of the Unconscious by D.H. Lawrence
  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  • Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan
  • Slovenly Peter by Heinrich Hoffman
  • Hans Brinker (or) The Silver Skates by Mary Mapes Dodge
  • Heidi by Johanna Spyri
  • Leave it to Psmith by P.G. Wodehouse
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot
  • The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf
  • Paradise Lost by John Milton
  • Lady Chaterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence
  • The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  • Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
  • Little Women by Louisa Alcott
  • Little Men by Louisa Alcott
  • Little Lord Fauntleroy Burnett by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Coral Island by R.M. Ballantyne
  • Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
  • The Count of Monte Cristo
  • Ivanhoe by Walter Scott
  • Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  • The Chosen by Chaim Potok
  • My name is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok
  • Keys of the Kingdom by A.J. Cronin
  • Exodus by Leon Uris
  • Kidnapped by R.L. Stevenson
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  • The Great Controversy by E.G. White
  • The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis
  • Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
  • Surprised by Joy by C.S. Lewis
  • The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis
  • The Abolition of Man by C.S. Lewis
  • The Rebel by Albert Camus
  • The Bostonians by Henry James
  • Walden by Henry David Thoreau
  • The Beastly Beatitudes of Balthazar B. by J.P. Donleavy
  • The Acceptance World by Powell
  • The Major Plays by Chekov

I know there are many more I ought to read. Many of the authors I’ve mentioned have written a lot of good books besides the ones I’ve mentioned that I’ve heard about and plan to read as well. But there’s so much that would be great to do and so little time to do it in after all those essential activities that I was talking about at the start!

7 thoughts on “The Joys of a Lazy Sunday

  1. You have some fabulous books on your list as well as many that I haven’t read yet and probably should. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them as you read them!

    I’ve never made a list of books to be read but I think it’s a great idea. I’m an avid list maker and have lists for just about everything else so maybe I should follow your example!

    Like

Leave a comment

