Personal · Rhyme Time

RHYME TIME ~ For Better and For Verse

Poetry is a deal of  joy and pain and wonder, with a dash of the dictionary. ~ Kahlil Gibran

In keeping with the trend of the past few weeks, I am falling late on posts. I’m sorry! – with Christmas just around the corner the evenings are getting busier and the days no less eventful. But I do have something interesting for today.

Do you think poetry is fun? The general opinion is that poetry isn’t for all. It is reserved for the emotionally appreciative . I suppose this was the sort of poetry Joseph Joubert was referring to when he said that  “You will find poetry nowhere unless you bring some of it with you”. This sort of poetry is more lyrical with similes, metaphors, and delicate sounding words and feelings. Wordsworth, Keats, and Robert Browning. This may be the sort of poetry only some people can enjoy.

There are others who enjoy a completely different sort of poetry altogether. The Roald Dahl and Ogden Nash kind. You know, rhymes that are funny, bizarrely clever, and unexpected. I like both kinds of poetry though I prefer to read the funnier sort more often than not. Mostly because they’re easier to remember and the rhythms are catchy.

I’ve decided to spruce up my blog with some poetry time. Every Wednesday I will be posting a rhyme,  a verse, or a full length poem. Today will be an exception since this post was actually meant to be posted the day before yesterday.

I’ve chosen two poems for today. One is being shared for obvious reasons as you will soon find out.

Open A Book  ~ By Jane Baskwill

Open a book

And you will find

People and places of every kind

Open a book 

And you can be

Anything that  you want to be

Open a book

And you can share

Wondrous worlds you find in there

Open a book 

And I will too

You read to me 

And I’ll read to you

(Ahem! This is where I got the name for my blog.)

 

A Book  ~ By Emily Dickinson

There is no frigate like a book

To take us lands away

Nor any coursers like a page

Of prancing poetry.

This traverse may the poorest take

Without oppress of toll;

How frugal is the chariot

That bears a human soul!

 

 

13 thoughts on “RHYME TIME ~ For Better and For Verse

  1. Open a book is such a sweet verse! Very like a song not to mention. I really loved that about that. And Emily Dickenson is an all time companion of mine. I have her collected volumes that I carry all the time.
    I appreciate this feature because not many literary blogs share or talk about poetry. As you have said it is sidelined as being only suitable for a select band of people.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s great knowing that people are still excited about poetry! For the longest time limericks, haikus, and funny poetry were the only kinds of poetry I actually enjoyed. So this is is going to be a learning experience for me as well. I’m really looking forward to it though 🙂

      Like

  2. Geetz its a great Idea , since I am very fond of poetry! I liked both the poems you just posted, Poetry is evrything explained in rhyme :), through the words of a poet , one can feeeel the depths of being, n explore ones inner realm.
    Will be looking forward to wednesday”s post 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

