Books · Culture · India · Personal

Book Meme

Uninspired and exhausted to write a review, today I’ve borrowed a book meme from this very helpful blog. One of my new year resolutions will be to make more time for blogging and posting quality posts. But for today I’ve chosen this. Please feel free to use this meme as well. You can either post your response in the comment section or on your blog and link me so that I can visit.

This is actually one of the simpler, shorter memes and is handy in connecting with other readers.

What are you reading? India by Sarina Singh. It’s actually a travel guide. I’m reading it because apart from books and clothes, travelling is the next best thing that I love. And I think it’s important to know your own country well enough before you go traipsing around the world. I’ve also been entertaining fanciful thoughts of spending my first proper savings on exploring India completely. Exciting! 

How far in are you? I’m beginning page 77. 

What’s it about? It’s a travelling guide to understanding and experiencing India to the fullest. It includes the top 20 things that have to be experienced here, general information, historical facts, and other helpful and interesting things any traveller would be grateful to know.

With Yaks

Are you enjoying it? Yes! It’s especially fun to be able to check off places I’ve already been to, experiences I’ve already experienced, and facts I already know while marking those I need to tuck away into my memory for future use. It makes me feel less like a book “worm”. (I dislike being called a worm! Even if it is a bookish sort.) 

I would love to know what everyone else is reading. And if you’re feeling worn out and dry like I am, do give this meme a whirl. I can already feel the iciness of writer’s block melting.

Walking through Wheat Fields
8 thoughts on “Book Meme

  1. I think it is great to read a travel book for the country you actually live in! Why ignore the treasures in your own “backyard”? Thanks for including photos too. it livened up the post and made it come alive.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you liked the photos! I included the picture of the yaks because I remember you having mentioned not knowing much about them in one of your posts. Unfortunately, I don’t know very much about them either except that people make butter and butter tea of their milk.

      Like

  2. Good reading Geets. There is so much to learn and explore right here in this huge, diverse country that we live in. I too love reading and dreaming about all the places I’d like to visit. Maybe it’s the holiday season that makes one want to pack ones bags and go where your fancy leads you. Dunno. But I sure hope to see you over Christmas.
    BTW, just finished reading James Patterson’s ‘Suzanne’s Diary for NIcholas’, and am trying to decide wether I like it or not. Picked it up at Daryaganj because I’ve decided to read at least one author I haven’t read before and the title intrigued me. The book’s a love story and a tragedy too. I guess most romances do have tragedies. Maybe that’s the important ingredient to make a great love story. But no, I wouldn’t rate this as a great love story. Somethings missing. But it’s sweet. It’s also another book with a reference to ‘Bridges of Madison County’. : )

    Like

    1. I hope we see you over Christmas as well! Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without all of you here. I don’t know what’s come over me but all I can think of these past few weeks is about travelling and shopping. I may have to make another trip to Delhi for satisfaction.

      Thanks for letting me know what you’ve been reading. I remember you saying that you were experimenting with new authors. I should do that as well. I especially need to begin reading more “grown up” books. I seem to be drawn to only “fun” books which are usually easy reading and less challenging.

      Like

      1. Fun books are good too, but the same kind of stuff gets monotonous after awhile. I do read some of Pranab’s and Amiya’s books sometimes, and Parthhiv’s Dr Seuss is always good. Am reading Georgette Heyer right now. : ) Will get you Barbara Kingsolver’s ‘Prodigal Summer’ when I come over – will try for christmas (we’ll all be disappointed if we can’t spend Christmas with you all.

        Like

Leave a comment

