Books · Personal

The Return of the Book Hound

Happy New Year everyone! I hope all of you have been having a lovely holiday season and are as excited about 2012 as I am! 2012 is the first year that I am truly excited about. Perhaps it’s because 2011 turned out to be unexpectedly satisfying although it started out badly. There were days when I had to comfort myself with the thought that it would soon be night again and I’d be able to crawl back into bed. Haha. I don’t know how and when things changed so dramatically. Somehow I’ve managed to keep all the resolutions I made at the beginning of 2011, I’ve made some very nice new friends, I’ve started blogging(!), and the plans I used to day dream about are finally beginning to take shape. 2011 has given me hope for 2012 and I’m really excited! 

I feel really bad about having abandoned my blog for an entire month. I didn’t mean for that to happen. In fact, I developed quite a guilt complex about it that I wasn’t able to use the computer without thinking about my abandoned blog. This got to the point that I gave up using the computer for a while!

Moving on to bookish news, I’ve decided to kick-start 2012 with a reading challenge hosted by Aishwarya at theliteraryshack. That means I’ll be reading four novels by Jane Austen this January. The four books I’ve chosen to read are:

  • Northanger Abbey
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Emma
  • Persuasion

Persuasion will be a re-read for me. Interestingly, this was the first book I read last year. I’ve watched both the movies, Pride and Prejudice and Emma. I wish I’d read the books first but I guess there’s no use feeling sorry about that now. I’m really looking forward to exploring Jane Austen’s work this month, and I hope I manage to do her books justice in my reviews.

Also, I know I’d said in my last post that I’d try writing thrice a week. I’m not so sure that will be possible anymore. I know, I only just finished gloating over how I managed to keep all my resolutions in 2011. Sad. But I guess posting twice a week is an easier target for me to stick to for now.

10 thoughts on “The Return of the Book Hound

  1. Hey Book Hound,

    Happy New Year to you too! Glad to see you back here. Have missed your blogs – so don’t be away to long again. : ) Your challenge does have nice books to begin with. Not sure if i’ve read Northanger Abbey (I should) but I got to the others in school so I will look forward to revisiting them here. All the best.
    l

    Like

    1. One of my new year resolutions for 2012 is to blog regularly so I will be trying very hard not to take a break this long again 😉

      By the way I enjoyed reading Prodigal Summer very much! Thank you, Aunty Reena!

      Like

Leave a comment

