Rhyme Time

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

Since February is considered especially romantic owing to Valentine’s day, I’ve decided to feature poems suitable for the season. When it comes to poetry I generally tend to favour the less serious, the more playful, and the funnier poems. And it’s not very often that I read poetry unless it’s the Roald Dahl or the Dr.Seuss kind. So this might be the month I discover new poems, and I’m looking forward to it.

For today’s featured poem I’ve chosen one that I’ve known and loved for a few years now. A very well known sonnet written by Elizabeth Barrett Browning for her husband Robert Browning, this poem is one of my favourites to read out loud.

Sonnet XLIII

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of everyday’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints, –I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life! –and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

12 thoughts on “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

  1. Thank you for reminding me of this one! It is one of my absolute favourites from school. Memories of those good ol days came back to me especially the admirable intonations of my Poetry teacher.

    Like

  2. This is a lovely poem.
    I was never too much into poetry until I read Robert Frost. I really liked his perspectives- as well as his way with words – and it encouraged me to explore other types of poetry as well.
    I look forward to seeing what else you share this month, and in the future.

    Like

  3. it was our topic today ,, its nice but i don’t know how to perform it beautiful in the front of my classmate. because it needs correct pronunciation and intonation , I’m too nervous.

    Like

Leave a comment

