Emily Bronte · Rhyme Time

Love and Friendship by Emily Bronte

I happened to come across this poem by Emily Bronte and I’m really glad I did. For years now, I’ve had an inexplicable aversion to the Bronte sisters. It’s baseless and another of those silly things about me where I have difficulty exploring things outside my comfort zone. So this year I’ve decided that come what may I will bring myself to read Wuthering Heights.

Until I found this poem I’d been looking with dread to the day I began reading Wuthering Heights. This charming poem has made me eager to explore more of Emily Bronte’s writings.

Love and Friendship

Love is like the wild rose-briar;

Friendship like the holly tree.

The holly is dark when the rose-briar blooms,

But which will bloom most constantly?

The wild rose-briar is sweet in spring,

Its summer blossoms scent the air;

Yet wait till winter comes again,

And who will call the wild-briar fair?

Then, scorn the silly rose-wreath now,

And deck thee with the holly’s sheen,

That, when December blights thy brow,

He still may leave thy garden green.

– Emily Bronte 

3 thoughts on “Love and Friendship by Emily Bronte

  1. Oh … I did like this. I read the other Bronte — the Jane Eyre one. I’ve heard Wuthering Heights can be a bit annoying but it seems to stick with a lot of people. Love the photo! Everyone looks so happy!

    Like

Leave a comment

