Personal

Picking Myself Up off the Blogging Floor

What can I say? I haven’t blogged for nearly three months! Even worse apart from textbooks, magazines, and newspapers, I haven’t been reading much either. My family and friends were pretty shocked at this prolonged complacent behaviour to the extent that they began giving me a hard time about it. And while I did feel mildly disappointed with myself I really didn’t feel bad enough to do anything about it and would tell people to relax and that I’d update my blog soon. (Read the last two comments on my last post on Mother’s Day. You’ll see what I mean).

Yesterday my mother very sternly told me to get back to blogging soon. Apparently they didn’t think I was doing much else that was worthwhile compared to blogging. That, coupled with the realisation that even while day dreaming I was almost always thinking about writing, helped pull me out of my cozy couch of nonchalance and self indulgence. (If you saw how much I’ve been shopping these past three months you’ll know what I mean). I also made up my mind to blog today under any circumstances because I would be very unhappy if I was the one person who got in the way of my own dreams. Plus I’ve missed my blogging community! And I feel too ashamed to read and comment when I haven’t updated my blog for three months!

This time I won’t be making my usual promises to blog regularly. Not that I intend on many more three – month long sabbaticals. It’s just that if it happens again I don’t want to feel so terrible. Blogging is supposed to be fun!

Looking forward to catching up on all that I’ve missed in the blogging world!

How could I blog while the season’s biggest sale was going on! :O

 

9 thoughts on “Picking Myself Up off the Blogging Floor

  1. Glad to see you’re back. : ) Long summer vacation but we hope to see you writing more regularly (Yup, the pressures on)

    Like

    1. Hahaha I actually feel a little pleased to know that you’re looking forward to reading my posts, Aunty Reena. In this case, the pressure is welcome and even encouraged!

      Like

  2. I feel you, I really do. Ironically, I was able to publish only one post over summer compared to the several I published during school. The laziness really does get to you, haha! But glad to see you’re back, blog on!

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s good to know that someone understands this situation so intimately. Isn’t it surprising that even something you enjoy doing so much takes such an effort!

      Like

  3. Somehow my life has been ditto like yours. I haven’t read much or done anything else to call it an excuse for not reading. It is a terrible feeling and I can’t express just how relieved I felt on knowing that I wasn’t alone! And I just loved this line of yours- “I also made up my mind to blog today under any circumstances because I would be very unhappy if I was the one person who got in the way of my own dreams”. It rings with so much of truth and it is much more forceful than any rebukes that others may have for us.
    And welcome back for I’ve missed your posts seriously!

    Like

    1. I’m so glad to know that there are others who feel the same way I do and struggle with the same things I do, in this case, finding the time and will to write regularly!

      Thank you for being so nice! I’m looking forward to catching up with what I’ve missed at your blog!

      Like

Leave a comment

