Book List 2012 · Book Review · Kenneth Grahame

Review: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

I don’t know why I never took the time to read this lovely book before! I’ve passed over too many copies of this book only to find out that it’s exactly the kind of book I could read again and again and enjoy it every time.

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame reminded me so much of Watership Down by Richard Adams, another absolute favourite of mine.  The characters, though anthropomorphised, still retain their basic animal characteristics and make the stories seem all the more believable. They take me back in time when the make believe world was as good as real.

The story centres on four main characters, namely, Mole, Rat, Badger, and Mr. Toad. The story also dwells a great deal on the scenic beauty of the Thames Valley. The description  of the Thames Valley is sublimely enchanting. Coupled with the charming stories of Mole, Rat, and Badger, and the silly adventures of Mr. Toad, The Wind in the Willows was a delight to read!

Critics add that much of what Kenneth Grahame shows  through his characters is a reflection of the Edwardian age in England. As one review read, the reason The Wind in the Willows inspires nostalgia is because it is itself saturated with a longing for change. Although I’m unable to draw deeper insight into the undercurrents of this book, which naturally add to the reasons to read it, I can say with certain confidence that this book is a joy to read even if it’s simply for the story, which incidentally has been told very well!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

    1. The Wind in the Willows did remind me a bit of Watership Down as they both made me slightly nostalgic for those childhood days when I used to pray that my dolls would come alive or perhaps to let me bump into a garden gnome 😉

      Like

Leave a comment

