Book List 2012 · Book Review · Eoin Colfer · Fiction

Review: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl is another of those famous children’s books that is enjoyed by both adults and children alike. I especially loved the book for taking me back to my school days. It reminded me of why I’d always preferred books over sports, talking, and of course, studies. This was the kind of book I’d smuggle into class and read instead of being busy with my school work. This was the kind of book I usually stayed in to read instead of running out to play when the school bell rang. And this was the sort of book that eventually hiked my popularity with the school librarian.

Artemis Fowl is a twelve year old child prodigy. He’s also a millionaire and, as the blurb says, a criminal mastermind. His father has been missing for sometime now and his mother is ill. Left on his own, Artemis finds evidence for the existence of fairies and is on a mission to restore his family’s fortune.

Set in the 21st century, this novel is fast paced and realistic, as far as it is possible where fairies are concerned. If you enjoyed the Harry Potter series I doubt this book will disappoint. Artemis Fowl has the essence of a Harry Potter mind gripper – magic, adventure, and a story well told. I’ve only read the first book in the Artemis Fowl series but I would like to read the next two books in this trilogy as well.

This book was definitely a joy to read. The only confusing thing for me was figuring out who the good guys were and who the bad guys really were. At times I felt like the fairies were the good guys and sided with them. And at other times I couldn’t help wondering if I was rooting for the wrong team. One thing’s for sure, this book has a lot of unexpected twists and there’s never a dull minute when you’re reading the adventures of Artemis Fowl.

Like Holes by Louis Sachar, this is also one of those medium sized reading snacks that satisfy for a short while. And like Holes, this book is worth reading even if it is only to turn back the wheels of time and remind us of the reason we ever liked reading in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Review: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Leave a comment

