Rhyme Time

Rhyme Time: For Better and For Verse

I read this poem a while ago and I really liked it. Although I’ve been wanting to share it ever since I first read it I’ve been saving it for the right moment.  And since I don’t have a more specific definition of the right moment than a strong gut feeling, I am sharing it today.

Alabaster

Like this alabaster box whose art

Is frail as a cassia-flower, is my heart,

Carven with delicate dreams and wrought

With many a subtle and exquisite thought.

Therein I treasure the spice and scent

Of rich and passionate memories blent

Like odours of cinnamon, sandal and clove,

Of song and sorrow and life and love.

– Sarojini Naidu 

6 thoughts on “Rhyme Time: For Better and For Verse

Leave a comment

