Books · Personal

A Weekend Idea

I know I don’t write more than twice a week but this last week I didn’t feel like writing at all. And you can’t really blame me; my cousins were here! The minute I’d get back from work in the evenings we’d go swimming. What with winter nearly here, we’re trying to soak in as much summer as we can before it gives in to stay-at-home-lest-you-get-lost-in-the-fog days. We also spent a good deal of time playing Scrabble at which I sadly lost every time. And I did read a little at work between patients. In fact, I completed two books this last week, one of which was Miss. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The reviews will follow. So you see, I did have reason to feel like spending more time offline than online this last week.

Since I decided to plunge into the world of book blogging I’ve found that there is so much that I didn’t know. All my preconceived notions of how blogging would be a breeze are not at all true. In fact, once I actually started blogging regularly I realized that it was more difficult than I had thought and I was more stressed than I was than  when I’d initially begun. So I’m glad that I had decided to blog about books since it gives my writing direction. Even then, I think I need to incorporate more structure to my blogging routine, for myself and for my seven readers. Plus I’m also looking for ways to make blogging more exciting. And the only reasonable solution that I’ve managed to come up with is to set myself a Reading Challenge!

My father thinks that a reading challenge would only add to the stress. But I think of it as a way of making my TBR list structured, not to mention make blogging more exciting for me, and probably help snazz up Open a Book a little bit. Now, I haven’t decided for sure what the topic for my reading challenge should be, though I do think it will be a good idea for me to begin with the Classics and Literature I should have read but haven’t. If you’ve got any interesting suggestions for a reading challenge do let me know because I’m still pretty new at this.

6 thoughts on “A Weekend Idea

  1. I am hoping to read a book from every year of the 20th century next year… which is quite a big challenge! Hope you manage to find one which suits.

    Like

  2. I love the classics and prefer reading them instead. So my library is fill with those kinds of books. My favorite being Jane Eyre. It’s in my book list.

    http://girlgeum.wordpress.com/bookish/

    When it comes to reading, you don’t have to randomly pick a book, you can begin with what interests you. If you have a particular book or author in mind, that’s good too. Happy reading. 🙂

    I’m reading Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the help! I’ve been thinking that I should probably aim to read all the classics before anything else. It’s probably shocking but even though I claim to love books there are a number of good books, classics even, that I haven’t read yet.

      Like

Leave a comment